Finally..the Platoon Video and the Final Stretch

The videographers sorely tested my patience, but they finally posted his platoon video (click on 1041) at about 8:30 pm last Friday night. (Third row from the top. He enters from the left, middle of the row; the first recruit whose shoulders point to the right instead of left. Look for the Brooks ears <sigh>.)

Honor Platoon! We are so thrilled and excited for him and his platoon-mates. Many have asked me, “What does that mean?” The six platoons compete in many of the qualifications I have previously mentioned (pugil sticks, shooting, physical fitness, etc). The platoon that scores the highest receives “Honor Platoon” designation. (Notice all the trophies at the Drill Instructor’s feet.) It will look fabulous on his service record.

I savor pleasant surprises, like an unexpected Saturday letter (since in his previous letter, he said “might be the last”).

I’m enjoying the letter-writing so much that I may continue it after boot camp. Just like his Mom, he has never been “chatty,” on email, text or phone. Putting pen to paper connects me to him in a way that an email can’t.

With limited information (some letters and a video), we like his voice and how appears. His letters continue to sound upbeat, even though he faces struggles ahead. (They started Crucible today; done Thursday.) He has not “bulked up” as much as we thought he might, and he didn’t have any weight to lose, so he’s no skinnier either.

We are unbelievably proud that he has done so well and has persevered through this difficult summer. He sounds excited about his upcoming job/tech school, and that will help him get through infantry school (which I can’t imagine is very much fun).

I’m very close to being an “official” Marine Mom…I can’t wait to see what that brings!

–Mighty Marine Mom

Posted on August 9, 2011, in Boot Camp, Motherhood, US Marine Corps and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment